kawarth promoer news logo

Wednesday, 04 May 2016 00:00

Meet our excellent Caygeonites

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Bobcaygeon Chamber awards recipients with chamber members. Back row, left: Gus Sevink, Nate Lauder, Tom Hunt, Shaukat Mohamed, Mandy Hollenga, Kerry Cook, Gillian Barrett, Craig MacPherson, Chris Appleton.Front row, left: Liz Lauder, Habiba Mohamed, Kent Leckie, Rosa Sharpe, Nicky MacPherson, Ann Adare.

            Do a little something like, oh, say, raising $1 million to preserve and protect a jewel of the Kawarthas (Chiminis or Big/Boyd Island in Pigeon Lake), and people will take notice.

            Kawartha Land Trust made it

award number four—and rightly so—when the Bobcaygeon and Area Chamber of Commerce recognized KLT with its Not For Profit Achievement Award at its annual Awards of Excellence Dinner at Lakeview Arts Barn April 23.

            KLT had already had its successful work on Chiminis recognized with awards from Sustainable Peterborough, Kawartha Conservation, and the City of Kawartha Lakes Environmental Advisory Committee (all previously reported in The Promoter).

            The land trust was one of eight groups, businesses or individuals recognized by the Bobcaygeon chamber at its awards dinner. And three of those awards—for achievements in new business, hospitality and creative arts—were new this year.

            The Bobcaygeon Chamber also gave awards in four new categories this year, for achievement in a new business, in tourism, hospitality, and creative arts. Three them (new business, tourism, hospitality) are still seeking ongoing sponsors. If interested, contact the chamber.

            Here are the winners and nominees for this year:

• Employee Achievement Award: Mandy Hollenga (other nominees: Charley Cross, Judy Meyer, Charmaine VanArken Wakeling, Sheri Bates).

• Not for Profit Achievement Award: Kawartha Land Trust (other nominees: Mieke Schipper, Bobcaygeon Farmers Market, Kawartha Settlers Village).

 • Business Achievement Award: Pick N Save (other nominees: Bigleys Shoes & Clothing, Full Cup Café, Dustin Ardron, Douglas & Son, Livewell, Case Manor).

Citizen of the Year Award: Tom Hunt (other nominees: Keith Baxter, Michele Dames, Shaukat Mohamed, Bruce Hobley).

New Business Achievement Award: Wheatsheaf Café (other nominees: EggSmart, Gilstorf & Grey, Stonegate Greenhouses Inc, Bobcaygeon Marketplace, Extreme Auto).

Tourism Achievement Award: Midnight Madness (other nominees: Michele Dames, Happy Days Houseboats).

 Hospitality Award: Caygeon Cove (other nominees: Wind Song by the Lake, Caygeon Cove).

Creative Arts Achievement Award: Gus Sevink (other nominees:Rebecca Janes, Kawartha Settlers Village, Fred Thornhill, Chuck Burns).

Read 1432 times Last modified on Wednesday, 04 May 2016 21:35

Featured Advertisers

promote your business
James Goodliff Art

Local Weather

°F | °C
Partly Cloudy
Humidity: 90%
11 kph
Mostly Cloudy
21 | 29
-6 | -1
Mostly Cloudy
19 | 36
-7 | 2